Being a team member. 

Sports.. I believe that every individual should try and join a sports teams whether it’s swimming, hockey or high jump. As you’ve read in my previous blog posts I havnt had the best childhood and young adulthood but… some of my most fondest charished memories are being on the many sports teams in school and independantly. It really doesn’t even need to be a sport even chess club or math club, antrying where there is a group on people getting together to do something they love. 

Even if you are not the most popular, have the most friends and wearing the latest trends being on a sports team makes you feel like your apart of something. 

I played hockey on an all girls traveling team, my father often was the trainer and always drove myself and sometimes a team mates to games. It was that bonding alone that has shaped me into the person I am today. When you get out on the ice you forgot all the demons, all the hard times… you let go and have fun, you may even get a little anger out. 

I made friends, even though some didn’t carry on much outside of the sport but some did. And the ones that didn’t still didn’t bother me, I felt apart of something being on a team. Learned about acceptance, teamwork, hard work, helping others and many other postive things. I also played sports in elementary school and high school but nothing beats my hockey teams. 

A few years worth of memories and laughs, coaches I will never forget and games I replay in my head. 

3 thoughts on “Being a team member. 

  1. I wish I had a similar experience but I’m always to anxious to join a team and prefer sports that I can be by myself. All the same,it is nice to see how much it means to you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was a swimmer growing up. And competed between the ages of 8 and 19. I still love sports and understand the value of them. I was a Special Olympics coach and also a physical education teacher. Then I worked for the Boys and Girls Club partnership with the parks department and organized sports throughout the year. But it’s never too late to find a group to belong to, whether it’s a fitness class, yoga, or in a group people with like-minded goals.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

